Math 336 --- Probability
         Fall 2013      Brian D. Jones


Syllabus and Course Procedures

Applied Probability Project

Current Homework Assignments

Due by Final Exam: Ch 7: Problems # 9,11,12,33,36,38,46,49,50,51, Theory # 2,15,17 +

Ch 8: Problems # 2,3,4,7 (Solution Swap)

Office Hours Exam Week

Tuesday Dec 17 --- 9-11

Wednesday Dec 18 --- 12-1

Class Meetings

Monday Dec 9 --- 7.4, 7.5

Wednesday Dec 11 --- 7.5, 8.2

Friday Dec 13 --- Wrap-up

Thursday, Dec 19, 8:30-11:30 am --- Final Exam

Old Homework Assignments

Due Wednesday Sep 4 --- Ch 1: Prob # 1,4,8,10,11,15,16, Theory # 4,5,8

Due Friday Sep 6 --- Ch 1: Prob # 21,22,28,30,31,32, Theory # 9,11,12a,20

Due Friday Sep 13 --- Ch 2: Prob # 7,8,10,15*,18*,19,21,25,27,35, Theory # 4a,7,12,15 (* use counting techniques)

Due Wednesday Sep 18 --- Ch 3: # 4,5,7-11,23,29, Theory # 1,2,5ab

Due Monday Sep 23 --- Ch 3: # 36,44,45,47,53,58,66,78,+Optional Bonus #79

Due Friday Sep 27 --- Ch 4: # 1,2,4,8bd,11,14

Due Tuesday Oct 1 @ 4:00 pm --- Ch 4: # 21,22,25,26,27,28

Due Wednesday Oct 9 by 5 pm --- Ch 4: # 35,36,38,39,42,43

Due Wednesday Oct 16 by 5 pm --- Ch 4: Problems # 46,49,50, Theory # 5,9,10,13

Due Monday Oct 21 by 5 pm --- Ch 4: # 51,52,53,55,58,59,62,63

Due Friday Oct 25 by 5 pm --- Ch 4: Theory # 14,16,18,19, Ch 5: Problems # 4,6,7,10

Due Wednesday Oct 30 by 5 pm--- Ch 5: Problems # 11,15,16,18,19,20,23, Theory # 1,5,8

Due Wednesday Nov 6 at 5 pm --- Ch 5: Problems # 27,31,33,37,38,39,40, Theory # 19,21,26,29,31

Due Friday Nov 15 by 5 pm--- Ch 5: Problems # 41 (use both Transformation Formula AND CDF Method) +

Ch 6: Problems # 1ac,2,4,8,9,10,12,13,14,19,20

Due Friday Dec 6 by 5 pm --- Ch 6: Problems # 23,24,27,40,41,42, Theory # 9,12, +

Ch 7: Problems 1,7