Math 222 (Foundations) Syllabus, Spring 2013

The following is a tentative syllabus for the course. This page will be kept current, so watch for changes.

Syllabus for Math 222
(Last modified 27 March 2013)
Date 
Book Section
Problems to be Prepared to Present Written Work Due
Mon 14 January
Chapter 0, 1.1
 
Wed 16 January 1.2-1.5 All Exercises, Ch 1 #1, 3  
Fri 18 January 1.6-1.8 All Exercises, Ch 1 #6  
       
Mon 21 January 1.9-1.15 All Exercises Ch 1 #8  
Wed 23 January 2.1-2.2 All Exercises, 2.2.2, Ch 2 #1
Fri 25 January 2.3 All Exercises, Ch 2 #2, 4 Chapter 1 #7, #9
       
Mon 28 January 2.4 (up to 2.4.5) All Exercises, 2.4.5.1  
Wed 30 January 2.4 (2.4.6 to end) 2.4.6.1, 2.4.8.1, 2.4.9.1  
Fri 1 February Intro to LaTeX Read Ch. 1 and skim Ch. 2-3 of The Not So Short Guide to LaTeX 2e  
       
Mon 4 February 2.5 All Exercises, 2.4.11  
Wed 6 February 2.5-2.6 2.5.4, 2.5.5

Fri 8 February 3.1
2.4.5.2, 2.4.9.2
       
Mon 11 February 3.2
3.2.2, 3.2.5, 3.2.6  
Wed 13 February 3.3
3.3.3

Fri 15 February 3.2-3.3 Catch up, if needed Ch 2 #8, 3.2.3, 3.2.4
       
Mon 18 February 4.1 All Exercises/Problems, Chapter 4 #2, 3, 4  
Wed 20 February 4.2 (to 4.2.10) All Exercises, 4.2.6
Fri 22 February
4.2 (4.2.11 to .18) All Exercises, 4.2.14, 4.2.15, 4.2.18 Problems from Handout
       
Mon 25 February 4.2 (4.2.19 to end) All Exercises, 4.2.22

Wed 27 February

4.3 (to 4.3.13) All Exercises and Problems  
Fri 1 March
4.3 (4.3.14 to .17) 4.3.14, 4.3.15, 4.3.16, 4.3.17, Chapter 4 #14, #15 Chapter 4 #8, #9, 4.2.25, 4.2.26
       

Mon 18 March

4.3 (4.3.18 to end) 4.3.19, 4.3.20, 4.3.21, 4.3.23, Chapter 4 #16
Wed 20 March 5.1 (to 5.1.7) All Exercises, 5.1.7  
Fri 22 March 5.1 (5.1.8 to end) All Exercises, 5.1.13, Chapter 5 #1, #2a, #4  
       
Mon 25 March Midterm   [Take-home exam due Tuesday noon]
Wed 27 March
5.2 (to 5.2.6) All: 5.2.2, 5.2.5
Groups: 5.2.3, 5.2.4.(12), 5.2.4.(34)
 
Fri 29 March  

Finish up 5.2.4.

 
       
Mon 1 April 5.2 (5.2.7 to end) All: Chapter 5 #2bd
Groups: 5.2.7, 5.2.10, Chapter 5 #5

Wed 3 April 5.3 (to 5.3.6) All: All exercises
Groups: 5.3.6.1, 5.3.6.2, 5.3.6.3
 
Fri 5 April 5.3 (5.3.7 to end) All: All exercises
Groups: 5.3.11, 5.3.12, Chapter 5 #6a,b
 
       
Mon 8 April 7.1, 7.2 All Exercises and Theorems; Read all; 7.2.4, 7.2.6, 7.2.7  
Wed 10 April 7.3 (to 7.3.6) 7.3.3, 7.3.4, 7.3.5, 7.3.6 5.2.9
Fri 12 April 7.3 (7.3.7 to end) Read all; 7.3.11  
       
Mon 15 April

7.3 (7.3.6 to end); 7.4 (to 7.4.6)

7.3.6, 7.3.11; Read all  
Wed 17 April 7.4, 7.5 7.4.9, 7.4.10, 7.5.4, 7.5.5 Chapter 5 #6c, #9, #15
Fri 19 April 7.4 revisited 7.4.7, 7.4.8  
       
Mon 22 April 7.3 revisited 7.3.7, 7.3.8, 7.3.9  
Wed 24 April
7.2 revisited 7.2.3 Chapter 7 #1, #2, #3, #4
Fri 26 April 7.2 revisited 7.2.5 (in groups)  
       
Mon 29 April 7.5 revisited 7.5.6 (I'll provide a different outline)  
Wed 1 May 7.6 7.6.1 7.3.10
Fri 3 May Wrap-up